Monday, March 28, 2011

Hawkmoon, The Jewel in the Skull #4: Part Four of Four

Download Hawkmoon, The Jewel in the Skull #4

Hawkmoon's struggle with the empire of Granbretan was treated in The History of the Runestaff, which consists of four books ("The Jewel in the Skull", "The Mad God's Amulet", "The Sword of the Dawn", and "The Runestaff"); the setting of this tale is a post-holocaust Earth.

Hawkmoon later returned as the main character of a sequel trilogy, the Chronicles of Count Brass ("Count Brass", "The Champion of Garathorm", and "The Quest for Tanelorn") that branched out into Moorcock's Multiverse proper. The second Hawkmoon series brought the Eternal Champion cycle to a conclusion of sorts—though not exactly a finale, as subsequent Eternal Champion books show.

Sunday, March 27, 2011

Hawkmoon, The Jewel in the Skull #3: Part Three of Four

Download Hawkmoon, The Jewel in the Skull #3

The Runestaff is one of the major artifacts in Michael Moorcock's multiverse. The Black Sword (whose aspects in Elric's milieu are the soul-stealing swords Stormbringer and Mournblade) is another. The Black Jewel, which manifested itself in the world of Hawkmoon as the Jewel implanted in Hawkmoon's skull, is akin to the Black Sword. Another artifact, the most powerful, is the Cosmic Balance: it powers the Runestaff to produce Order. The Horn of Fate is still another artifact or power. Often artifacts are carried by the Champion Eternal. Some of the artifacts have servants.

The enigmatic Warrior in Jet and Gold serves the Runestaff, as does Orland Fank of the Orkneys.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...